Recipe: Delicious Green Beans

I’ve decided to try some new recipes lately. I don’t eat the healthiest, so I’m trying to incorporate more variety into my diet. Recently, I’ve decided to try to eat more veggies
since that’s not something I’m too keen on. My latest adventure was cooking green beans. Now I’ve never cooked green beans, so I had no idea what I was doing.

Now I’ve never cooked green beans, so I had no idea what I was doing. I looked on Pinterest for a few recipes, but I didn’t know if I would like them or not. So I decided to just take the general idea of a few and combine them together to create my own thing. And I ended up really liking them. They had a lot of flavor and were pretty good, so I recommend giving them a shot. This is what I did:IMG_0392

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb green beans
  • cold water
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • dried herbs
  • parmesan cheese

Start off by taking the ends of both sides of the green beans. My mom told me to cook them like this and I don’t know if you have to but that’s what I did.

Next place the green beans in a pot with enough cold water to cover them (and probably a little extra).Throw in as much salt and pepper you would like. Place it on the stove on high until it starts to boil and then reduce to a simmer. How long you leave it depends on how you like your beans cooked. I went a little on the softer side. I probably cooked them for about 8 minutes.

Once they’re done, drain the water from the pot. Place the butter, garlic, and whatever dried herbs you have in your cabinet. I used an Italian blend, but it’s
up to your preference. I just threw in a small amount to give them some more flavor. Once again it’s up to your taste. I put them on a low heat and just let them soak in all the flavor, while stirring frequently.

Once all the butter is melted and everything is combined well (I let them cook about 5 minutes) take them off the heat. You can either serve right away or you can cook these at the beginning of your meal prep. Let them set while you are preparing everything else and allow them to soak in some more flavor. Then right before you serve them just turn the heat back on the pot for 2 minutes to heat them up.

I hope you enjoyed this

xoxo, depressed girl

One thought on “Recipe: Delicious Green Beans

Leave a Reply

